Another Nyx in Switzerland and a few questions

Harmonic Geared Mount
RobertGanter

Another Nyx in Switzerland and a few questions

Post by RobertGanter »

Hello,

Please allow me to shortly introduce myself:
my name is Robert, I live in a suburb of Basel and have been interested in astronomy since ages.
By profession I am an electrical engineer running a small company mainly in the field of functional safety applications (e.g. railway).
I am a member of the local astronomical society of Basel where I am responible for the telescope workshop (ATM, mirror making, maintenance of equipment).

Beginning of August my Nyx-101 finally arrived. I could not resist to do a first bring up test. Despite of a few quirks with WiFi (no "spaces" allowed in WiFi password...) I could successfully connect it with Unity on a Windows PC and Sky Safari on IOS devices.
As I intend to use my equipment as far away from civilisation (i.e. light polluted areas) I need to add some equipment like 12V power source, etc. Weather in the mean time has been unsuitable for any observation so I do have time to work on this. An astroberry system is working already, at least with basic functionality. Next step will be to add a GPS module to the Raspberry Pi.

Now to a few questions and problems which I stumbled across during setup and planning for mobile accessories. I refer to manual version 1.6 - 2023-07-01:
  1. Power supply reqirements / absolute maximum ratings. On page 8 "Technical Data" requirements are specified as 12V- 14V (unregulated). What are the maximum ratings? 14V would be rather tight as e.g. a lead acid of LiFePO4 battery can reach more than that during recharge. I assume this is uncritical but would suggest to clarifiy this point in the manual. I am shure there are quite a few folks around making their own mobile power sources. It would be unfortunate to deal with damaged mounts due to this.