Cannot connect second instance of software

Post Reply
Bryan
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:17 am

Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Bryan »

I have both a PPB Micro and a PPB Advance. When I start up PPB software (Ver 1.16), it connects to the PPBA and functions normally. However, I cannot start and connect to the PPBM. If I try to connect via a 2nd instance, it sees the PPBM and even assigns a COM port, but when trying to connect, it cannot find the COM port!
Clipboard02.png
Clipboard02.png (127.44 KiB) Viewed 2957 times
Any suggestions. Any other info that would be helpful?

TIA!

Bryan
User avatar
Evans
Site Admin
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Evans »

Can you check the port on each instance.
I tried to replicate your issue with no success
Below image shows a Micro and an Advance in parallel
Screenshot at Apr 03 14-39-28.png
Screenshot at Apr 03 14-39-28.png (43.33 KiB) Viewed 2955 times
Bryan
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:17 am

Re: Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Bryan »

Using USBVIEW, I was able to determine that, even though the Pegasus software decided that COM9 was the appropriate port, the actual connected port was COM13. I changed from 9 to 13 in Device Manager and both instances connect now.

This begs the question, however, of why the Pegasus software identified an incorrect port.

Bryan
User avatar
Evans
Site Admin
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Evans »

Probably it was an older COM port stored in windows registry.
Bryan
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:17 am

Re: Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Bryan »

Can this be improved in the next version of the Pegasus software? It's not very useful app, to be honest, if it cannot find the correct port on its own.

Bryan
User avatar
Evans
Site Admin
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Evans »

It works perfectly fine if you have set it to "Auto"
If you have already selected a port it will try only this specific port.
Bryan
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 12:17 am

Re: Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Bryan »

This is not my experience.

I never set a COM port on the initial install of either the PPBM or the PPBA, which was installed at a later date. If I click Auto Select now, it still fails.

Bryan
User avatar
Evans
Site Admin
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cannot connect second instance of software

Post by Evans »

Probably it has to do with the windows framework. We'll try to replicate your issue and if there is a visible problem we'll fix it in the next release.
Post Reply