Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

FocusCube v1 & v2, Zero, Motor Focus Kit (Universal or Zero)
Post Reply
Vince48
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2022 6:59 pm

Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

Post by Vince48 »

Hello everyone,

I recently acquired a FocuscubeV2 for my 80ED refractor.
ASCOM 6.6 has been uploaded, along with Unity Platform 1.4.1.1.
Windows 10 is up to date.
The equipment is powered by a 12 volts 7 amp power supply, and connected with the original USB2 cable.
Unfortunately I cannot connect the motor correctly : display of an error code "1201" Error on Start Driver (see screenshot).

What did I forget or do wrong, please ?
FocusCube-pb.jpg
FocusCube-pb.jpg (92.87 KiB) Viewed 624 times
Vince48
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2022 6:59 pm

Re: Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

Post by Vince48 »

Hello,
Continuation and additional informations :

- My dealer checked the FocusCube (under warranty) on his own equipment : it works perfectly !
The problem therefore comes from my computer system.

- I tried to uninstall then reinstall the Unity Platform software, without success.
Ditto by stopping my antivirus.

- I tried to connect the Cube to my old PC under Windows 8.1: same result with still this error 1201 !
On the 2 PCs (Windows 10 and 8.1), when I plug in the USB2 cable I hear a connection sound, then the image of the cube appears in Unity ;
I get error code 1201 when I click to access the engine.
10 seconds later I have a disconnection sound and the image then disappears !
This cycle repeats itself indefinitely...

- Also tested to change power supply : on battery, same failure.

With my weak skills I conclude to a problem with the FocusCube driver which does not seem to start correctly ?!
But why ?!!

I've come to the end of the possible solutions, I've run out of ideas !
Please help me, if anyone has a genius idea ! ;)
Haribo66
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2022 4:13 pm

Re: Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

Post by Haribo66 »

Hi Vince,

I just had the same situation and received the same error. ASCOM 6.6 installed, WIndows 11, Unity PLatform and got the Error Code 1201.

In NINA the focuser didn't work, neither in SGP. But it woked perfectly with the old tool Focus control from Pegasusastro.

I finally deinstalled the Unity Platform and everything works fine, no problems anymore. The focuser works in NINA and SGP again.

Best regards

Thomas
Vince48
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2022 6:59 pm

Re: Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

Post by Vince48 »

Hi Thomas,

Thank you very much for your feedback. :)

I uninstalled Unity Platform, and I no longer have the 1201 error.
But it still doesn't work, with a new error which confirms that the problem comes from the driver (see screenshot).

Translation : "An ASCOM driver interoperability error has occurred. This is probably due to an incompatibility between the driver being installed as x86 and NINA being x64. Please install the driver as x64."

I will work in this new direction by reinstalling everything from the beginning !

To be continued ... :mrgreen:
FocusCube-erreurNINA.jpg
FocusCube-erreurNINA.jpg (114.07 KiB) Viewed 468 times
Vince48
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2022 6:59 pm

Re: Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

Post by Vince48 »

Hi !

A lot of work this spring which did not allow me to progress on this problem.

But this summer I took part in a gathering of amateur astronomers: a participant also owning a Focus Cube tried mine on his PC: after a good hour of searching, failure to connect my Cube!

Today I reinstalled Unity Platform and, finally, I move forward:
the engine has taken its first steps!!!
Only 6 (see screenshot), but that's a lot of progress for me!
New error message, anyone have any idea?!
FocusCube-Unity-panneau-ctrl-erreur2.png
FocusCube-Unity-panneau-ctrl-erreur2.png (315.96 KiB) Viewed 28 times
My apologies for my imperfect language, I use Google Translate to communicate...
User avatar
Evans
Site Admin
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

Post by Evans »

Hello,
I have never seen these messages so it is better to schedule an anydesk session so we can troubleshoot further.
Please reach us at support@pegasusastro.com to have a detailed view of what is going on with Unity and your device.
Thank you!
Vince48
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2022 6:59 pm

Re: Trouble connecting my FocusCube V2 ...

Post by Vince48 »

Hello Evans,

Thank you for your response, I just sent you an email !
Post Reply