Pegasusastro focus cube cannot be connected

FocusCube v1 & v2, Zero, Motor Focus Kit (Universal or Zero)
Post Reply
aracam
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2021 8:37 pm

Pegasusastro focus cube cannot be connected

Post by aracam »

Hi all, I got my my new pegasusastro focus cube 2 yesterday. I installed it on my Windows 10 machine. No problem connecting directly through the focus controler software from pegasusastro. Win10 USB drivers and ascom drivers are installed, too. All drivers are new, downloaded from the pegasusastro website.
My problem is within Sharpcap. Have a look at the attached screenshots. I cannot configure the focuser inside sharpcap. And I cannot connect to it. I uninstalled all ascom drivers, ascom platform and sharpcap - reinstalled it - the problem is still there.
My sharpcap version is 4.0.8395.0 / 64bit.
Can anyone help me please. Thanks in advance
Daniel
Attachments
SharpCap2.JPG
SharpCap2.JPG (49.61 KiB) Viewed 1016 times
SharpCap.JPG
SharpCap.JPG (85.51 KiB) Viewed 1016 times
User avatar
Evans
Site Admin
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Pegasusastro focus cube cannot be connected

Post by Evans »

Please download and install the latest ASCOM driver which fixes this issue

ASCOM Focus Driver v2.17   (Nov/21)
https://pegasusastro.com/wp-content/upl ... _v2_17.exe
aracam
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2021 8:37 pm

Re: Pegasusastro focus cube cannot be connected

Post by aracam »

Hi Evans,

thank you for the fast help and support. The new driver worked, but I think there is a small bug still inside. After installing the new driver, I was instantly able to configure the focuse inside SharpCap. Then I connected my camera and clicked on connect in the scope controls window, see screenshot "SharpCap1-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17". The following error message occured, look at screenshot "SharpCap2-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17" and log file "SharpCap-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17.txt".

I opened Ascom Profile Explorer (see screenshot "SharpCap3-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17") and recognized that the comport had value 1, but in windows device manager the comport the focuser is attached to is 3. So I changed the comport in Ascom Profile Explorer to 3. Everything works fine now! I'm not quite sure if it is a individual problem or general.

Nevertheless thanks alot for your prompt help!
Daniel
Attachments
SharpCap3-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17.JPG
SharpCap3-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17.JPG (80.56 KiB) Viewed 1009 times
SharpCap2-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17.JPG
SharpCap2-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17.JPG (45.47 KiB) Viewed 1009 times
SharpCap1-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17.JPG
SharpCap1-NUC-ASCOM-Driver_2.17.JPG (44.98 KiB) Viewed 1009 times
User avatar
Evans
Site Admin
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Pegasusastro focus cube cannot be connected

Post by Evans »

Thanks for the feedback.
Serial port will be updated when you click settings and select the port.
If no port is selected it will automatically discover it.
Post Reply